Scottish Almond Shortbread

These are my Scottish Almond Shortbread. (Apart from the calories,) Shortbread is definitely one of my favourite snack. I love the buttery and a slight pinch of milky taste of this almond shortbread. Next time, I’ll up the almond so it’ll be more crunchy! If you prefer a strong almond flavour,you may want to add more ground almond. I was so excited to see my Almond Scottish Shortbread that I did not refrigerate the dough until firm before sending them into the oven. Refrigerating the dough until firm enables you to cut them into interesting shapes with a cookie cutter. I merely baked them in an 8inch square tin and cut them into little cubes for easy distribution and to fit my containers!!

Ingredients:

A:
125g butter
125g butter cup canola gold butter
85g icing sugar

B:
190g plain flour
75g corn flour
60g ground almond
1/2 tbsp milk powder

C:
Chopped Toasted whole almond. ( I used sliced almond)

Steps:
– Preheat oven to 170 degree C
– Mix A until well blended
– Add in B until well blended
– Toss in C until well incorporated.
– Line yr 8 inch square tin w parchment paper and lightly grease it.
– Pour yr batter into the tin and use a knife to slice the batter into yr desired shapes that you intend to divide later. – Pop them into the preheated oven and bake them for 25-30 mins/ until slightly golden brown.
– Run your knife along the lines you have sliced previously.
– Leave it to cool for about 15-30 mins before removing them from the tin. (if not, they will fall apart! )

Alternatively, click here for my plain traditional shortbread recipe!

Leave a comment